Bittersweet

The pretty bush in the front has bloomed.

It is a bittersweet spring here at the warren…

On Monday Mom had to help Howard to the Rainbow Bridge. He was her first barker, a loyal friend-to-the-end, and her heart is broke.

Thank you so much Fur & Purr friends and your humans,for your kind words and support, we know you understand, and we love you all!

As much as I loved the life we had and all the times we played,
I was so very tired and knew my time on earth would fade.
I saw a wonderous image then of a place that’s trouble free
Where all of us can meet again to spend eternity.

I saw the most beautiful Rainbow, and on the other side
Were meadows rich and beautiful — lush and green and wide!
And running through the meadows as far as the eye could see
Were animals of every sort, as healthy as could be!
My own tired, failing body was fresh and healed and new
And I wanted to go run with them, but I had something left to do.

I needed to reach out to you, to tell you I’m all right
That this place is truly wonderful, then a bright Glow pierced the night.
‘Twas the Glow of many Candles shining bright and strong and bold
And I knew then that it held your love in its brilliant shades of gold.

For although we may not be together in the way we used to be,
We are still connected by a cord no eye can see.
So whenever you need to find me, we’re never far apart,
If you look beyond the Rainbow and listen with your heart.

……by Cathy Guyan
1995


10 Responses

  1. Peace to all of you as you remember a good friend.

  2. I am so sorry Howard had to go to the bridge. My sincerest sympathies on the loss of your sweet friend.

  3. Purring for you and your family. Howard was a beautiful beautiful dog.

  4. We are so sorry to hear about Howard. You all are in our thoughts and purrayers.

  5. Say Andrew, for a Barker that Howard was a good looker! He will be missed a lot, eh?

    Call that Howard’s Rhody! (I think that is what it is.)

  6. Oh my that looks tasty!

  7. my heart aches for you… having just been there last Father’s day and still missing my Ollie… http://archisantics.blogspot.com/2007/06/exit-stage-left.html

    Diva Kitty put these words on my blog entry of Ollie’s passing and they spoke to my heart. May they comfort you as well in this time. I am so sorry
    carri ann aka archi’s mum

    There is a sacredness in tears.
    They are not the mark of weakness, but of power.
    They speak more eloquently
    than 10,000 tongues.
    They are the messengers
    of overwhelming grief,
    of deep contrition,
    and of unspeakable love.

    – Washington Irving

  8. We’re so sorry to hear that Howard went to the bridge. We are thinking of you at this sad time.

  9. We were sorry to hear that Howard crossed the bridge…he looks in the picture as if he was a fine guy, watching over the buns. Chin up though… Howard is now feeling fine at the bridge, surely he already met Dusty and Judy, two barkers that used to be Dad’s before our time…

  10. I’m so sorry to hear about Howard. He looks like such a loving guy. The Bridge is filled with cherished animals. I know he’ll be taken care of until it’s time for you to play again.

    –Dana
    BunnyBlab.com

Leave a Reply

