Felix Health Update

This is Andrew’s Mom,  just wanted to update everyone on Felix.

He has been in the Hospital since Monday because he had a urinary tract blockage.  Since then every time they take the catheter out he swells up with inflammation.  So at this point its Thursday night and my only options are surgery in the a.m. or go up there tonight and put him to sleep.  Since I CANNOT do the later, he is having surgery in the a.m.  This surgery will make him pee like a girl and thus eliminate the problem area I guess.  Which the vet says even though Felix is old this is a very common surgery and he has just as good a chance at doing well as any other cat.

This is the only option for me because There is just NO WAY I can go up to the Hospital tonight and send him off to the bridge knowing  there was something  I could have done to keep him with me and I didn’t do it.  I wish I was an Animal Communicator so Felix could tell me what HE wanted.  I can only hope he wants to hang around with us for awhile longer.  He was eating this morning, which thrilled everyone at the Hospital according to the Vet.

Thanks for listening everyone!  I will keep you posted!  Andrew had a blast with Cadbury on Monday.

6 Responses

  1. I am so sad that you even have to make such a difficult decision but am thankful there was a decision to be made that could give the good boy a chance at a longer, healthy life. It sounds like if that’s a common surgery for boys his age he could do just fine and have many more great years with you to add to the first couple he’s had. You are a gem to adopt an adult cat and do the hard things for him. Bless you. You will be in my prayers

  2. Sometimes life is sooo hard ….. we know.

  3. I know what you mean. I’ll spend any amount if it’s likely to lead to a positive outcome, but I won’t do it just to put off the day when I must grieve the loss of a friend.

    It sounds like Felix is a good candidate for this surgery and will have additional happy years with you. It’s the right thing and I wish him all the best.

    Thanks for hosting Cadbury!

  4. Good luck with the surgery, Felix! I would do the same if I were in your shoes.. for as long as other options are available, I’d rather not go down the PTS road. Keep us updated on Felix 🙂

  5. I wish you the very best, Felix! At our local cat shelter, there was a kitty who had that surgery a couple of years ago. He recovered fairly quickly and got adopted and is very happy now. If Felix is having the same procedure, there was quite a long line of sutures, but I think it looked worse than it was, so don’t be alarmed. I am sending strong healing purrs.

  6. Here’s hoping the vet is right and the surgery goes well, and you have a happy cat with you at home again soon.

Leave a Reply

